THE Oxford Vaccine Group is among seven bodies that have been nominated for an NHS Parliamentary Award.

Oxford West and Abingdon MP Layla Moran has nominated seven teams and individuals across Oxfordshire’s NHS and outside teams as part of the annual awards.

The awards recognise and appreciate the 'very best about our local healthcare service.' 

The Liberal Democrat MP said the nominations reflected the variety of accomplishments in the community, with this year focusing on the adaptability, innovation and hard work throughout the pandemic.

READ ALSO: Oxford's top five Sunday roasts to try this weekend.

She said: "This year has been extremely difficult for NHS staff, these are just some of the health heroes in our community and they absolutely deserve this recognition.

“Our NHS has always been a fundamental pillar of our society and yet is under such immense pressure, especially during this pandemic.

"It is those who work in the NHS who make the NHS what it is. It is important that we appreciate the NHS staff’s incredible work, research and care year-round.

“I hope they win. They all deserve acknowledgement for the outstanding work they have done this year."

The groups put forward for the awards are:

-Oxford Vaccine Group and Jenner Institute.

-Buckinghamshire and Oxfordshire Mental Health Helpline, Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust .


-Digital Consultations, Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust .

-Ambulatory Outreach Team, Oxford University Hospitals.

-Laura Nunn and Nikki Cartwright, Systematic Anti-Cancer Therapy Nurses, Oxford University Hospitals.

-Practice Development and Education Team, Oxford University Hospitals.