OXFORDSHIRE’S Conservative MPs have congratulated Boris Johnson on becoming Prime Minister – even though just one of them backed him.

Witney MP Robert Courts was the only one of the county’s four Tories to support Mr Johnson, who entered 10 Downing Street yesterday, after winning the leadership race on Tuesday.

Mr Courts, who originally backed Dominic Raab, said: “Congratulations to Boris on an emphatic victory and commiserations to Jeremy Hunt on a well-fought campaign.

Read also: Councillors and MPs react to Boris becoming PM

“Our nation is crying out for optimistic leadership and I am confident that Boris’ modern, outward-looking vision and One Nation policy agenda can unite our Party and, ultimately, our country.”

Mr Johnson received twice as many votes as leadership rival Jeremy Hunt, who was backed by John Howell - the new Prime Minister’s successor as Henley MP.

Mr Howell tweeted: “My congratulations to Boris Johnson on winning the leadership contest, and my commiserations to Jeremy Hunt.

“This was an election between two strong Conservatives and it should be no surprise that there is a lot we can unite behind going forward.”

Meanwhile Banbury MP Victoria Prentis, congratulated Mr Johnson and thanked outgoing Prime Minister Theresa May for her ‘unwavering support and service’.

Read also: How did county MPs vote on proroguing Parliament?

She tweeted: “We must work together to deliver a Brexit that works for the whole country.”

Neither Ms Prentis nor Wantage MP Ed Vaizey backed either of the frontrunners and the latter told BBC Oxford he was unconvinced about Mr Johnson’s determination for a no-deal Brexit.

He said: “In peace time I would be pretty relaxed about Boris being Prime Minister. He’s displayed the qualities and people like him. But we fundamentally disagree that a no-deal Brexit would be absolutely fine for the UK.”