THE NHS staff providing vital cancer scans at the Churchill Hospital have been nominated for a parliamentary award.

Layla Moran, Lib Dem MP for Oxford West and Abingdon, put forward Oxford University Hospitals PET-CT Radiology Team for the Excellence in Healthcare award.

The service was recently put under threat after NHS England decided to award a new contract to provide PET-CT scans to private firm InHealth instead.

That decision, however, has now been put on hold after being referred to the Secretary of State for review.

Read again: Plans to privatise cancer scans referred to secretary of state

Professor Fergus Gleeson (Consultant Radiologist) and the team have made improvements and innovations in PET-CT scanning that have not only raised standards and reduced the number of hospital visits by the cancer patients they scan by 20 per cent, but their work and research could benefit thousands of cancer patients nationwide.

Speaking about the nomination, professor Gleeson said: “It is a privilege to work in Oxford, with its emphasis on providing high-quality care and research in a truly collaborative manner to benefit patients.”

As well as the PET-CT Team, Ms Moran also nominated four other local health services including the Oxford Mental Health Partnership (OMHP), Hayley Kinch, Malthouse Surgery, Abingdon, Oxfordshire Adult Mental Health Services, and Pauline Scully, Deputy Chief Operating Officer, Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust.

Read again:Labour MP calls for investigation into Churchill cancer scan privatisation bid

Each year the awards allow MPs to nominate local health services for recognition of the work they do.

The winners will be presented with their awards in parliament on July 10.

Ms Moran said: "These are just some of the health heroes in our community who work tirelessly every day and absolutely deserve this recognition.

“Our NHS is one of the most important assets in society, and at a time when it is under immense strain it is important that we make sure we appreciate all the incredible innovations and hard work that its teams and practitioners accomplish year round.

“I would like to thank the nominees for all they are doing for our community, and I hope they win.”