A FORMER Lord mayor of Oxford, the brother of a US presidential hopeful and Nigel Farage are among the South East’s candidates in the upcoming European parliament elections.

The former spokesman for Madeleine McCann’s family, various Oxfordshire councillors and a UKIP representative who claimed to ‘make numbers up’ for Mr Farage will also stand on May 23, while the political enigma Lord Buckethead appears to have missed the deadline to be a candidate.

The full list is at the bottom of this article.

READ AGAIN: Local elections: 70% of Oxfordshire wards uncontested

The hastily planned vote may yet be cancelled - and would not have taken place if Britain had left the European Union as planned on March 29.

The elections use the complicated D’Hondt formula, which calculates how many seats should be allocated to each party based on vote share. If Party A is given four seats, the top four candidates on its list are elected.

Former Oxford Lord Mayor Elise Benjamin is second on the Green’s list, giving her some hope of being elected. Oxford’s Larry Sanders – brother of American politician Bernie – is unlikely to be elected, five places below her, but helped launched the party’s campaign in the city yesterday.

READ AGAIN: Profile - Larry Sanders on Bernie, Oxford and the NHS

UKIP – who will face a battle with the new Brexit Party for leave voters – include candidate Daryll Pitcher, who once tweeted: “You can't trust (Mr Farage’s) numbers. I know, I used to make them up for him.”

Oxford Mail:

The Brexit Party confirmed to the Oxford Mail that leader Mr Farage will stand in the region, while Lord Buckethead did flirt with standing against him. 

Daily Telegraph writer James Bartholomew - who is also the director of the Museum of Communist Terror - and 'Brexit March to Leave' participant Belinda de Cambourne Lucy. 

Labour include Oxfordshire County Councillor Emma Turnbull (fourth); West Oxfordshire district councillor Duncan Enright (seventh) and Oxford city councillor Lubna Arshad (eighth) for the European Parliament.

ALSO READ: Local elections: South Oxfordshire District Council, Vale of White Horse, West Oxfordshire and Cherwell candidates

The Lib Dems also have some county representation, with former county councillor and current MEP Catherine Bearder (first), county councillor Liz Leffman (fifth) and Oxford University's Dr Ruvi Ziegler (eighth).

Prominent Eurosceptic Daniel Hannan is top of the Conservatives’ candidates, while former colleague Richard Ashworth heads the Change UK ticket - which also includes the father of pop star Sophie Ellis-Bextor.

ALSO READ: Lib Dems and Greens form electoral pact in South Oxfordshire

Clarence Mitchell, who helps the McCann family with public relations, is seventh for the Tories, while South Oxfordshire District Councillor Caroline Newton is tenth.

The South East’s current MEPs are made up of four UKIP representatives, three Conservatives, one Labour, one Lib Dem and one Green.

READ AGAIN: Suzette Watson chosen as next Labour MP candidate for Banbury

Speaking at her party's launch yesterday, Green candidate Elise Benjamin said: “Our slogan for the European elections is ‘Yes to Remain, no to climate change’.

Oxford Mail:

"Working together as democratically elected MEPs, Greens can have a big and immediate impact on the causes of climate change."

Voters have until May 7 to register.

The full list of candidates is below.

Brexit Party

1. Nigel Farage

2. Alexandra Lesley Phillips

3. Robert Andrew Rowland

4. Belinda Claire De Camborne Lucy

5. James Gilbert Bartholomew

6. Christopher Graham Ellis

7. John Kennedy

8. Matthew Peter Taylor

9. George Thomas Stahel Farmer

10. Peter David Wiltshire

Change UK – The Independent Group

1. Richard Ashworth

2. Victoria Groulef

3. Warren Morgan

4. Eleanor Fuller

5. Robin Bextor

6. Nicholas Mazzei

7. Suzana Carp

8. Phil Murphy

9. Heather Allen

10. Diane Yeo


1. Daniel Hannan

2. Nirj Deva

3. Richard Robinson

4. Michael Whiting

5. Juliette Ash

6. Anna Firth

7. Adrian Pepper

8. Clarence Mitchell

9. Neva Sadikoglu-Novaky

10. Caroline Newton


1. Alexandra Phillips

2. Elise Benjamin

3. Vix Lowthion

4. Leslie Groves Williams

5. Phelim Mac Cafferty

6. Jan Doerfel

7. Larry Sanders

8. Isabella Moir

9. Oliver Sykes

10. Jonathan Essex

Independent candidates

Jason Guy Spencer McMahon

David Victor Round

Michael Jeffrey Turberville


1. John Howarth

2. Cathy Shutt

3. Arran Neathey

4. Emma Christina Turnbull

5. Rohit Dasgupta

6. Amy Fowler

7. Duncan Shaw Thomas Enright

8. Lubna Arshad

9. Simon Burgess

10. Rachael Ward

Liberal Democrats

1. Catherine Bearder

2. Anthony Hook

3. Judith Bunting

4. Martin Tod

5. Liz Leffman

6. Chris Bowers

7. Giles Goodall

8. Ruvi Ziegler

9. Nick Perry

10. John Vincent

Socialist Party of Great Britain

1. Mandy Bruce

2. Raymond Dennis Carr

3. David Stanley Chesham

4. Robert Alexander Cox

5. Michael Foster

6. Stephen Harper

7. Neil Kirk

8. Anton Charles Pruden

9. Andrew Brian Thomas-Emans

10. Darren James Williams

UK European Union Party (UKEUP)

1. Pacelli Ndikumana

2. Clinton Powell


1. Piers Wauchope

2. Liz Phillips

3. Daryll Pitcher

4. Toby Brothers

5. Tony Gould

6. Clive Keith Egan

7. Troy De Leon

8. Alan Harvey Stone

9. Judy Moore

10. Pat Mountain