MPs have rejected the government's Brexit withdrawal agreement for a third time.

Theresa May's deal was defeated by 286 votes to 344 in the House of Commons this afternoon.

This means that the UK is now set to leave the EU without a deal on April 12, in just 14 days time, although the government could ask for a further extension.

Read again: Futures of science staff secure - regardless of Brexit

Oxford West and Abingdon MP Layla Moran voted against the deal and condemned the Conservative party for 'wasting everyone's time'.

The Liberal Democrat said: "The Conservatives are wasting everyone’s time by tabling a deal which literally no-one wants.

"Since being elected, over 2,500 of my residents have been in touch with me to voice their concerns about Brexit and some 20,000 signed the petition to revoke Article 50 – I stand with them.

“I will continue to listen to the people of Oxfordshire who have marched, campaigned and signed petitions against this shambolic Tory Brexit and work for a final say on the Brexit deal with the option to remain.

“My message to the Prime Minister is – listen to my residents, listen to their concerns and put it back to the people because you have failed.”

Read again: Brexit could be delaying Covered Market fishmongers

Brexit-backing Witney MP Robert Courts had previously rejected the government's withdrawal agreement, but said earlier this week that he would 'reluctanctly' back the deal.

He added: "The hard reality is that this deal, for all its faults, is now the only available route out of the EU and to deliver on our promises.

"With renewed focus, the ultimate prize is still achievable in future relationship talks."

Read again: Witney rock band blame Brexit for scuppering big break

Oxfordshire's three other Tories - Banbury's Victoria Prentis, Wantage MP Ed Vaizey and Henley's John Howell - all supported the deal.

Labour MP for Oxford East, Anneliese Dodds, voted against, along with all but five of the party's MPs.