Detective drama Endeavour will return for a seventh series.

ITV confirmed the Inspector Morse prequel would be back as the sixth series came to an end on Sunday night.

READ AGAIN: Endeavour: New series - filming in Oxford complete

The Oxford-based drama follows the Inspector Morse and Lewis series which were based on the novels written by Colin Dexter, who died in March 2017.

Oxford Mail:

Endeavour charts the early career of the young Endeavour Morse, played by Shaun Evans.

READ AGAIN: Endeavour: What to expect from the cast itself

He will reprise his role alongside Roger Allam as mentor DI Fred Thursday in the new set of films, which will be set in 1970.

Oxford Mail:

Creator Russell Lewis said: "We're thrilled ITV has asked #TeamEndeavour to continue to add to the Casebook of Colin Dexter's immortal creation and take E. Morse and Oxford's Finest into a new decade of decimalisation, package holidays, the Oil Crisis, Blackouts, Three Day Weeks, and Europa Endlos."

READ MORE: Why Endeavour's Shaun Evans is now directing the TV show

Damien Timmer, of producers Mammoth Screen, said: "We've been thrilled with the response to series six - it's testament to Russell Lewis's continuing cleverness and also the brilliant partnership between Shaun Evans and Roger Allam as Endeavour Morse and Fred Thursday.

"The 1970s are calling us and we can't wait."

Oxford Mail:

ITV's head of drama Polly Hill said the channel was "incredibly proud" of the programme, adding: "Writer and creator Russell Lewis continues to engage viewers with carefully crafted stories for Endeavour and Thursday as we move into the 1970s.

"We're grateful to the production team at Mammoth Screen for continuing to deliver such a high quality drama."

Filming will take place in Oxford and the surrounding area.

Oxford Mail:

Production will begin later this year for transmission in 2020.

Inspector Morse ran from 1987 to 2000 while Lewis, starring Kevin Whately and Laurence Fox, ran from 2006 to 2015.