OXFORD West and Abingdon MP Layla Moran has condemned protesters who barracked fellow MP Anna Soubry over Brexit.

Police near Parliament have been “briefed to intervene appropriately” if the law is broken after Tory MP Mrs Soubry accused them of ignoring abuse hurled at politicians and journalists.

The pro-EU Tory made the allegation yesterday, the day after she was branded a “Nazi” and a “liar” by a mob who targeted her during live television interviews and then followed her as she made her way back into the Commons.

It was the latest in a string of high-profile demonstrations targeting individual MPs in Westminster and prompted more than 100 MPs from across the Commons to write to Metropolitan Police Commissioner Cressida Dick on Monday night to express their “serious concerns” about the “deteriorating public order and security situation” outside Parliament.

Ms Moran, who signed the letter, said: "The footage of Anna Soubry being confronted, was deeply and desperately upsetting. No Member of Parliament or person going to their job should come under the harassment Anna had to deal with yesterday. It is massively important for our country to not let these people subvert our democracy.

"To those who are saying a People’s Vote would feed the fire to this right wing extremism, I say this makes me more passionate than ever, to fight for our democracy, and for a final say on the Brexit deal with the option to remain.

"I strongly believe the people who harassed Anna are a minority in Britain, and, the minority of leave voters. We will always be an open tolerant country, even in deeply divided times. I stand by Anna and my other colleagues who have been subject to such abuse. ”

READ MORE: Police to intervene if protesters break the law

Oxford East MP Anneliese Dodds said she was happy to support MPs who signed the letter in the hope of ensuring that MPs and journalists could 'go about their work without being intimidated'.

MPs will vote on Theresa May's Brexit deal on Tuesday, January 15 after the Government called off the vote last month.

Last night 20 Conservative MPs, including Wantage MP Ed Vaizey, helped to inflict a defeat on Theresa May over her preparations for a no-deal Brexit.

The defeat came on an amendment to the Finance Bill to limit ministers’ ability freedom to make tax changes connected to a no-deal Brexit without Parliament’s 'explicit consent'.

Former ministers Kenneth Clarke, Sir Michael Fallon, Justine Greening, Dominic Grieve and Oliver Letwin were among the 20 Tory rebels.

In December Mr Vaizey, a Remainer, was one of 25 MPs who voted with Mr Grieve to block a no deal Brexit after Mr Grieve tabled an amendment to the Withdrawal Act.