POLICE from across the Thames Valley came together at Eynsham Hall for the 17th community policing awards. 

Winners from Oxford included Henry North, who was named special constable of the year, and community and diversity officer David Hession, who was named diversity champion. 

The awards recognise the exceptional efforts of Thames Valley Police's neighbourhood policing teams.

In January, the nominations opened with members of the public, community groups, police officers and staff, and partners all submitting nominations for those officers, staff and volunteers that they felt had enhanced the service Thames Valley Police offers.

After receiving nearly 400 nominations, the highest number in Community Policing Awards history, the nominations were sifted and then reviewed by a judging panel chaired by Assistant Chief Constable Nikki Ross.

Ms Ross said: "The Community Policing Awards give residents, community organisations and businesses the opportunity to recognise a member of our force who they think has gone above and beyond the call of duty to make a difference to local people and local communities.

"Again the response this year from residents was excellent and it was inspiring to see the difference the winners and other nominees are making in their communities to the everyday lives of residents in the Thames Valley. Selecting the winners was a difficult but rewarding experience for the panel and I would like to congratulate the winners as well as acknowledge all of the nominees for their hard work and dedication."

Buckinghamshire and Overall Community Officer 2018: PC Glen Crosland

Oxfordshire Community Officer 2018: PC Darren James

Berkshire Community Officer 2018: PC Tom Walters

Oxfordshire Police Community Support Officer (PCSO) 2018: Ali Blood

Buckinghamshire Police Community Support Officer (PSCO) 2018: Andy Angus

Berkshire Police Community Support Officer (PCSO) 2018: Iain Gregory

Special Constable 2018: Henry North

Volunteer 2018: Jamie Green

Community Volunteer 2018: Clare Percival

Cadet 2018: Harley Jones

Diversity Champion 2018: David Hession