OXFORD University’s men weighed in as the lighter boat when the crews for the 2018 Cancer Research Boat Race were unveiled.

The Dark Blues, who have won four of the last five encounters must overcome an average deficit of 3kg per man to extend their impressive record on Saturday, March 24.

Oxford have named three returning Blues – Joshua Bugajski and Vassilis Ragoussis raced in last year’s winning crew, while Will Geffen competed in 2015.

Anders Weiss, a former US Olympian, is a new name on the Dark Blue roster.

Once again, Cambridge are the heavier of the two women’s crews.

Katherine Erickson returns from a year abroad to take up the president’s role for Oxford on her debut.

Ahead of the announcement, Oxford’s men and women took on the sternest of tests with fixtures against Oxford Brookes University crews.

The women had a better day than their male counterparts, winning both of the races over the championship course on London’s Thames Tideway.

The men, with Abingdon School’s Ragoussis at stroke, faced one the strongest eights in the country.

While Oxford demonstrated considerable fight and tenacity, the Brookes crew had a little more in the tank at the end of each of the two races.

The Dark Blue women’s boats, with coach Andy Nelder in charge, took command to win both their races, albeit by less than a length in the second.

Those returning from last year include Oxford Cheney schoolgirl, Alice Roberts, still only 19, selected in the four seat.

There will be a better idea of the relative speed of the Boat Race protagonists as Brookes take on the Cambridge crews next weekend.


Men: Iain Mandale (president), Felix Drinkall, Will Cahill, Anders Weiss, Will Geffen, Joshua Bugajski, Claas Mertens, Vassilis Ragoussis (stroke), Zachary Thomas Johnson (cox)

Women: Renee Koolschijn, Katherine Erickson (president), Juliette Perry, Alice Roberts, Sara Kushma, Abigail Killen, Beth Bridgman (stroke), Jessica Buck (cox).