“BRILLIANTLY original” and “outstanding” young physicists, biologists and chemists have been recognised for their school work.

Some 87 secondary school scientists from across Oxfordshire were presented with certificates at the biggest ever Young Scientist of the Year awards.

More than 300 students, parents and teachers attended the third annual ceremony last Wednesday night at the Oxford University Museum of Natural History.

Hosted by education charity Science Oxford, the event asked teachers to nominate their best Year 13 students in the three science subjects.

Our top stories

Schools nominated one student for each subject based on exam results, progress in class or just enthusiasm and commitment.

Cheney School, Oxford student Lara Stead, 17, was nominated by her chemistry teacher, Louise Elias, who called her an “outstanding chemist”.

Ms Elias said: “Lara has an excellent work ethic and natural curiosity for the subject.”

Bethany Mulloy, of Cokethorpe School, in Witney, was put forward by biology teacher Chris Flaherty, who said: “Bethany is an extremely talented student.

“She excels at biology, as demonstrated by her gaining full marks in the AS biology examinations.”

Oxford High School biology teacher Paul Weeks described Róisín Hanrahan as “brilliantly original”.

“She can solve complex biological concepts from first principles and excels in every area of the subject.”

Professor Helen McShane, a leading infectious disease expert at the University of Oxford, spoke at the ceremony and there were talks from young researchers and apprentices to inspire students to think about careers in science, maths and engineering.

Organiser Brian Mackenwells said: “We had some inspiring and moving nominations from science teachers. The number of student nominations has gone up by 20 per cent in the past three years, showing more schools are keen to be involved in the celebration and more teachers can see the benefit of acknowledging talent in biology, chemistry and physics.”

The awards are supported by Oxford University Nuffield Department Of Medicine, Rutherford Appleton Laboratories and international science business forum SCI.

Science Oxford is a part of independent charity the Oxford Trust, established in 1985 by Sir Martin and Audrey, Lady Wood, co-founders of Oxford Instruments. Their aim was to encourage the pursuit of science and enterprise across Oxfordshire.

The Winners

Abingdon School
James Rice, Alastair Smith, Gordon Wai

Banbury Academy
Tejaangi Tandel, Lewis Caiger, Kim Spijkers-Shaw

Bicester Community College
Joshua Parke, James Kapp, Charlie Moore

Blessed George Napier School
Oliver Kelly, Alex Cotter, Liam Gibbs

Bloxham School
Oliver Haynes, Robert Skipworth

Burford School
Cameron Elder, Jack Hodgson, Naomi Stanhope

Cheney School
Adam Gildea, Lara Stead, Billie Meadowcroft

Chipping Norton School
Hepsie Lucas, Abbie Festa, Trystan Surawy-Stepney

Cokethorpe School
Bethany Mulloy, Justin Foster, Nicholas Caddy

Didcot Girls’ School
Katie Jones, Jessica Streets

Didcot Sixth Form College
Tabitha Atkinson-Seed, Samuel Baker

Faringdon Community College
Christopher Little, Seb Allum, Natascha Blesing

Headington School
Alex Emsley, Alba Landra, Jennifer Wark

King Alfred's Academy
Catherine Kirk

Kingham Hill School    
Alex French, Phoebe Wilson, Nina Greasby

Lord Williams’s School
Jasmine Bernard, Amber Breakspear, Elijah Andrews

Matthew Arnold School
Amelia Gilio, Nicholas Magrane, Michael Ballentine

Our Lady’s Abingdon
Jenny Wise

Oxford High School
Róisín Hanrahan, Nisha Hare, Hannah Tillmann-Morris

Radley College
Jack Hewitt

Sibford School
Keshav Sharma, Myles Atherstone, Vladamir Ip

St Birinus School
Sam Johnson

St Edward’s Oxford
Emma Cheng, An Truong, Mikhail Yakovlev

St Helen and St Katharine School
Bethany Hull, Catherine Chalk, Helen Gildersleeves

The Cherwell School    
Megan Taylor-West, Sophie Woolford, Chinedum Echeta

The Cooper School
Katie Baynton Glen, Connor Fray, Lewis O'Driscoll

The Henley College
Thomas Edrop, Harold Wickens, Daniel Houghton

The Marlborough School
Lauren Turner, Elise Dixon, Michael Clarke

Tudor Hall School
Sophie Arif, Alexandra Lockyer, Scarlett Embury

Wallingford School
Tom Brock, Olivia Parkinson, Nathan Harpham

Wheatley Park School
Joshua Taylor, Sophie Yelland

Wood Green School
Sophie Willcox, Carenza Glithero, Jesse Lawrence

Wychwood School
Eleanor Doughton, Zahra Ardalan, Shannen Allen

  • Do you want alerts delivered straight to your phone via our WhatsApp service? Text NEWS or SPORT or NEWS AND SPORT, depending on which services you want, and your full name to 07767 417704. Save our number into your phone’s contacts as Oxford Mail WhatsApp and ensure you have WhatsApp installed.