SIX figures from across the worlds of music, science and art are to be awarded honorary degrees by the University of Oxford tomorrow.

Among them will be sculptor Sir Anish Kapoor, pictured, who helped design the iconic Orbit sculpture for the London 2012 Olympic Games alongside Cecil Balmond.

This year’s recipients include The Most Reverend Dr Katharine Jefferts Schori, the 26th Presiding Bishop of the Episcopal Church of the United States, who will receive a Degree of Doctor of Divinity.

Sir Anish will get a Degree of Doctor of Letters, alongside Robert Silvers who became co-editor alongside Barbara Epstein of the New York Review of Books when it was founded in 1963 and has been sole editor since her death in 2006.

Receiving a Degree of Doctor of Science will be Prof Wallace Broecker, a scientist from New York’s Columbia University whose main research involves defining the ocean’s role in climate change.

Prof Jean-Marie Lehn, from France, will also be a recipient of the Degree of Doctor of Science. He was a recipient of the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1987 for his studies on the chemical basis of molecular recognition.

And Lancashire composer Sir Harrison Birtwistle will receive a Degree of Doctor of Music. His work includes operas Punch and Judy and The Last Supper.

The ceremony is called encaenia, which is a Greek word meaning festival of renewal, and takes place in the Sheldonian Theatre and includes a procession made up of senior university representatives.