TENNIS: Harwell make it a treble

First published in Tennis

Harwell Labs LTC team won the Yorkshire Cup for the third successive year.

The team of Debra Davies and Matt Davies (from Harwell), Alice Atkins (Drayton) and Alex Wingent (Didcot) beat Bucklebury in the final of the handicapped tournament, run by the Newbury and District LTA.

Harwell’s players, who are part of the club’s mixed A team, are unchanged from the team that beat Yattendon in in the 2009 final – when Atkins was just 13 – and Kintbury in 2010.

Harwell’s ladies won 6-1, while the men won 6-4 in a match containing long rallies.

In the mixed, Bucklebury’s first pair won 7-5, while Atkins and Wingent won 6-0 for Harwell.

So the result depended on the two reverse mixed doubles.

The Davieses beat the Bucklebury second pair 6-0, before Harwell’s first pair Atkins and Wingent confirmed Harwell’s win with a 6-4 victory.

The trophy was presented by Peter Smith, who donated the cup in 1966 and named it after his native Yorkshire.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree