RUGBY UNION: Asbun's award

First published in Rugby Oxford Mail: Photograph of the Author by , Sports reporter specialising in Rugby, Cricket and Athletics. Call me on 01865 425456

FLANKER Derek Asbun was named Oxford University’s player of the year at their annual dinner.

The American was consistently excellent in Oxford’s successful Varsity campaign.

Scrum half Sam Egerton collected the most improved player award, while Heewon Cho was clubman of the year.

  • OXFORDSHIRE host defending champions Dorset & Wilts in their opening County Championship Shield fixture at Banbury on Saturday (3).

Coaches Richard Williams and Craig Burrows will announce their squad for the Pool 3 clash today.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree