Oxford United 3 - Blackburn Rovers 0
FA Cup fifth round
February 15, 1964

Fourth Division Oxford entertained the second placed club in the top flight before a then record 21,700 Manor crowd.

Oxford Mail: Static HTML image
Ron Atkinson: a rock in defence

Among Blackburn's team were the legendary Brian Douglas, former England skipper Ronnie Clayton and sometime international players Mike England (later of Spurs and Wales), Fred Pickering (Everton and England), Mick McGrath (Eire) and lethal marksman Andy McEvoy (Eire).

United took a 13th-minute lead through Tony Jones, who increased the margin soon after the break. Mike Ferguson pulled one back for Rovers in the 68th minute but Billy Calder cemented the shock of the season in the closing minutes. This is the only time that the U's have won through to the quarter finals. At that stage, on 'Leap Year Day', they lost 2-1 to eventual finalists Preston before an all-time record Manor crowd of 22,750.


Blackburn: Else, Bray, Joyce, Clayton, England, McGrath, Ferguson, McEvoy, Pickering, Douglas and Harrison.

Oxford: Harry Fearnley, Cyril Beavon, Pat Quartermain, Ron Atkinson, Maurice Kyle, John Shuker, Peter Knight, Arthur Longbottom (later switched his name to Langley), Bill Calder, Tony Jones and Colin Harrington.

Oxford United 1 - Manchester United 0
Division 2
February 8, 1975

The two clubs' only previous meeting at the Manor had resulted in a draw in the League Cup when a Red Devils side containing Law, Best and Charlton had needed an 87th minute goal from the latter to prevent the U's eliminating them.

This time United started as underdogs against Tommy Docherty's league leaders. Oxford had to give a debut to 17-year-old Scot Hughie McGrogan, while Martin Buchan, Willie Morgan, Lou Macari, Stuart Pearson and Sammy McIlroy were included in a strong Manchester team.

The only goal of the game came in the 35th minute when McGrogan played a through ball to Derek Clarke. Clarke, one of four brothers of England and Leeds star Allan to play league football, beat Paddy Roche with a first time shot to the delight of the London Roaders. Roy Burton made some superb saves to keep the points for United.

Oxford were then in a comfortable mid-table position but were seriously weakened for their remaining games through the transfer of star player and captain Dave Roberts.


Manchester: Roche, Alex Forsyth, Stuart Houston, Brian Greenhoff, Steve James, Buchan, Morgan (sub Davies), McIlroy, Pearson, Macari and Tony Young.

Oxford: Burton, Jimmy Light, John Shuker, Roberts, Colin Clarke, Billy Jeffrey, Steve Aylott, Colin Duncan, Derek Clarke, Andy McCulloch and McGrogan.

Oxford United 3 - Queens Park Rangers 0
Milk (League) Cup Final
April 20, 1986

Oxford Mail: HEROES RETURN: John Aldridge, pictured at Wembley during United's Milk Cup triumph, is due to play for the U's again
John Aldridge holds of QPR's Warren Neill

A crowd of 90,396 attended Wembley for this meeting between the club which Jim Smith was managing and the club which he had left the previous summer.

United had been without Billy Hamilton for many months and had lost Peter Rhoades-Brown just three weeks earlier in a nasty tackle with Martin Allen (of QPR), but were otherwise at full strength.

After a cagey start, United took a 40th-minute lead through Man of the Match Trevor Hebberd. He took a ball down the left from John Aldridge, before cutting inside, dragging the ball back past Irish International player Alan MacDonald and shooting low and hard inside the near post.

Attacking the tunnel end in the second half, United totally dominated proceedings, keeper Alan Judge's only save being from a long range effort from Ian Dawes in the 73rd minute.

United's midfield of Ray Houghton, Les Phillips, Trevor Hebberd and Kevin Brock were in total control and it came as no surprise that further goals came. The first involved a string of beautiful passes and ended with Hebberd setting up a perceptive Ray Houghton with a close-range finish after 53 minutes.

Oxford Mail: Static HTML image
Man of the match Trevor Hebberd pictured with Maurice Evans

With four minutes remaining, yet another move involving Hebberd and Aldridge ended with Jeremy Charles tapping in from close range after Aldridge's cross shot had been parried.

The three-goal League Cup final margin still stands as a record (since equalled by Aston Villa). There can rarely have been a more one-sided cup final of any category at Wembley.

Manager Maurice Evans quite characteristically and graciously permitted his long serving physiotherapist to collect a medal instead of himself.


Queens Park Rangers: Paul Barron, McDonald, Dawes, Warren Neill, Steve Wicks, Terry Fenwick, Allen (Leroy Rosenior), Robbie James, Gary Bannister, John Byrne and Michael Robinson.

Oxford: Judge, Dave Langan, John Trewick, Phillips, Gary Briggs, Malcolm Shotton (captain) , Houghton, Aldridge, Charles, Hebberd and Brock.

Oxford United 3 - Arsenal 0
Division One
May 5, 1986

Oxford Mail: Static HTML image
Ray Houghton celebrates his goal against the mighty Arsenal

Having won the League Cup a few weeks earlier, United needed to win this game against Arsenal to ensure their survival in the top flight.

If United failed to win then Ipswich would stay above them and thus be saved from relegation. Arsenal fielded a very strong line-up which included eight men who had or would play in international football.

A Manor crowd of 13,651 saw Ray Houghton give United a third-minute lead. Attacking the London Road End after the break, United were awarded a dubious penalty when Viv Anderson and John Aldridge collided in the 71st minute.

Aldridge's penalty sent John Lukic the wrong way to double United's lead. With just nine minutes left, Houghton weighted a perfect pass to Billy Hamilton and the big Ulsterman scored his last ever first team goal.


Arsenal: Lukic, Anderson, Kenny Sansom, Martin Keown, David O'Leary(Ian Allinson), Tony Adams, Stuart Robson, Paul Davis, Tony Woodcock, Charlie Nicholas and Graham Rix.

Oxford: Alan Judge, Dave Langan, John Trewick, Mark Jones, Gary Briggs, Malcolm Shotton, Houghton, Aldridge, Hamilton, Trevor Hebberd and Steve Perryman.


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree