Tottenham Hotspur and Manchester City are among those to have entered under 21 teams in next season's Checkatrade Trophy.

Newcastle United and Fulham's youngsters will also take their place in the competition along with teams from Chelsea, Everton, Southampton, Stoke City, Leicester City, West Ham United, Swansea City, West Bromwich Albion, Brighton & Hove Albion, Reading, Middlesbrough and Sunderland.

The Group Stage draw will take place in July with the first round of fixtures scheduled to take place week commencing August 28.

The selection criteria for invited under 21 teams is ‘six players from the starting 11 must be under the age of 21 as at 30 June 2017.’

Oxford United have reached the final of the competition in each of the last two seasons, but been beaten at Wembley on both occasions.