AFC Hinksey completed the second leg of their Critchleys Upper Thames Valley League treble tilt with a 2-1 win over Kings Arms Wheatley in the Devenney Cup final at Abingdon Town, writes TIM SIRET.

Hinksey, who lifted the Hedley Toms/Michael Brown Trophy last week and are top of the Premier Division, took the lead seconds before the break when Tristan Lawrence’s header from a Julian McCalmon free-kick went in off the bar.

Wheatley equalised when Luke Cuff spotted keeper Karl Adams off his line, and clipped the ball home from 40 yards early in the second half.

However, their joy was short-lived as Hinksey grabbed the winner in the 54th minute when Adam Doyle’s shot was deflected past keeper Jeff Simmonds.

Both teams had chances after that, before the heavens opened leaving the pitch almost unplayable.

Kidlington Royals were crowned Division 1 champions before their 11-2 home win over Sutton Revolution.

Ryan Curtin fired a five-timer, with Daniel Leggett (2), Mark Gradwell, Kieron Sanders, Liam O’Callaghan and James Organ also netting.

AFC Jericho cemented runners-up spot and promotion with a 5-0 home win over Mansfield Road.

Jack Hayhurst bagged a brace with Marley Joseph, a Lance New penalty and Kyle Perry also on target.

The race for the Division 2 title is set for an incredible finish with King & Queen Wheatley, Yellow Eagles and Cholsey United all on the same points with one game to play.

And with league rules dictating titles have to be decided on points, it means there could be a three-team play-off.

King & Queen Wheatley’s 4-2 win at Yellow Eagles – allied to Cholsey United’s surprise 5-3 defeat at Red Lion Islip – has triggered the possibility of this incredible scenario.

Sam Gordon, Ben Beresford, Elliot O’Brien and Shane Whalley netted for King & Queen, with Danny Morgan and Thom Airs replying for Eagles.

Cholsey, meanwhile, surrendered a 3-0 lead to crash at Red Lion.

Bradley Charles, Matt Leach and Jamie Newport looked to have put Cholsey in commnad, but Red Lion roared back through a John Webb hat-trick, Andy White and Aaron Perisi.



Div 2: Sutton Wands 0, Rutherford 3 (J Watts 2, A Powell).

Div 3A: Zubry Oxford 1 (M Samoluk), Abingdon Exiles 2 (J Monnery, L McKiernan pen).

Div 3B: Black Swan 4 (L Dewar, J Mortimer, F Haines, A Steele), Northway Res 4 (G Oakes, L O’Sullivan, R Colwell, L Colwell); FC Hagbourne 2 (A Brown 2), The Tree 3 (J Dutton 2, D Gibbard).


Div 3B: AFC Crowmarsh 4 (W Clements, A Philips, J Ramsey, B Higgins), Black Swan 3 (J Mortimer 2, D Carter); The Tree 5 (O O’Hanlon 3, C Payne, L Faircloth), FC Hagbourne 1.