Oxford MCCU suffered a second batting collapse on the way to a 253-run defeat by Glamorgan on the final day of their opening first-class match of the season in The Parks.

Having been shot out for 123 in their first innings, the students fared little better second time around as they were rolled over for 137, despite Sam Agarwal and Ben Stebbings’s opening stand of 70.

Oxford had started the day trailing by 328 runs, with Glamorgan still having nine second-innings wickets intact.

Resuming on 105-1, Nick James and Stewart Walters completed a century stand, before the former was yorked by Dan Conway for a first-class career-best 83 to make it 130-2.

Ben Wright joined Walters, and they took the score to 167, before Glamorgan skipper Mark Wallace declared.

Walters was unbeaten on 59, with seven fours, while Dan Pascoe bowled accurately, his 17 overs going for just 23 runs.

It left Oxford a target of 391 in four and a half hours.

And they started their second innings brightly, with Agarwal playing fluently, including lofting former England off-spinner Robert Croft high over the pavilion for a six.

But with the total on 70, Moises Henriques trapped Stebbings leg before – and that triggered another collapse.

Agarwal had reached 51 off 74 balls – with seven fours – when he was run out following a mix-up with Josh Fleming.

Oxford captain Ben Williams then bagged a pair as he was bowled by Dean Cosker.

Croft snared Fleming with Gareth Rees taking an inside edge to leave Oxford 91-4.

Two runs later Cosker had an appeal for lbw upheld against Charlie Walker, and it became 95-6 as Cosker added another lbw victim in Freddie John.

Cosker plucked a thick edge out of the air to end Pascoe’s brief flurry and then next ball, Henriques induced an edge from Ben Jeffrey into Wallace’s gloves.

Henriques re-arranged Jamie Thompson’s stumps, before Oxford’s fate was sealed when Cosker had Charlie Morris caught at mid-on by Henriques.

Scores: Glamorgan 346-7dec & 167-2dec (N Hames 83, S Walters 59no), Oxford MCCU 123 & 137 (S Agarwal 51). Glamorgan won by 253 runs.