BANBURY 2nd’s title hopes suffered a setback as they crashed to an 84-run defeat at home to Tiddington in Division 1.

But fortunately for Banbury, leaders Long Marston had their Cherwell League match at Oxford Downs washed out without a ball bowled, so this loss was not as damaging as it might have been for their championship aspirations.

Tiddington skipper Will Goodman opted to bat first on winning the toss, and in a match reduced to 48 overs per side, they racked up an impressive 263-6.

Chris Goodman led the way with 90, while Patrick Knightley hit 48 not out and Nick Pykett an unbeaten 40.

Richard Simpson took 3-60 for the home side.

In reply, Banbury never really recovered from 25-3, despite a 101-run stand between Will Briggs (61) and Will Hawtin (35).

They were eventually all out in the 33rd over for 179 as young Ben Smith returned figures of 5-59.

l Banbury 2nd 9pts, Tiddington 25

Horspath 2nd’s season of woe continued as they lost by nine runs at fellow strugglers Aston Rowant 2nd.

Chris Eaton hit 94 and Tim Morgan 56 as Rowant posted 212-5 in a rain-reduced 48 overs.

Graham Beer’s half-century (56) helped Horspath to get close, but they were all out in the final over for 203 as Rowant edged to victory.

l A Rowant 2nd 25pts, Horspath 2nd 9

Three wickets apiece for Will Bull and Tom Powell helped Cumnor to a three-wicket victory on the Duckworth Lewis method at Dinton.

The home side were shot out for 142 as Bull took 3-17 and Powell 3-28, Brennan Gough, son of former England star Darren, top-scoring with 40.

Chasing a revised target of 150, Cumnor secured victory with seven wickets down.

l Dinton 7pts, Cumnor 25

Abingdon Vale saw off Twyford by 21 runs.

Twyford inserted their hosts after winning the toss, and they proceeded to 197-5 in a match reduced to 44 overs per side.

Jeisimhan Diwakar hit 61 and Luke Charlesworth 45 for Vale, while Tom Jackson took 3-41.

Shahid Mamhood then hit 51 and Shabaz Alam 35 in Twyford’s reply, but they were bowled out in the 41st over for 176 as Graham Charlesworth took 3-16.

l Abingdon Vale 25pts, Twyford 8

CHALLOW & Childrey defeated visitors Didcot by six wickets in a rain-affected clash to go top of Division 2.

Didcot, put in to bat, were dismissed for 113 as George Trewby took 5-25.

The target was revised upwards to 117 on the DLS system, and, led by Patrick Bryan’s 31 not out, Challow reached 117-4 with nearly six overs to spare.

Challow & Childrey 25pts, Didcot 5

Sandford St Martin upset title-chasing Bledlow Village by one wicket.

The home side were bowled out for 224, Olly Woodward hitting 71 and Matthew Bolton 61.

Will Woodward then took 7-57 for Bledlow, but, helped by Kris Jones (65) and Jim Howe (51), Sandford edged home at 225-9.

Bledlow Village 14pts,

Sandford St Martin 25

Oxford 2nd dismissed visitors Oxford & Bletchingdon Nondescripts for just 97 to wrap up a 73-run win, which leaves Nondies rooted to the foot of the table.

Joe Porter (61) and Adam Hall (44) helped Oxford to 170-6 in a rain-reduced 38 overs.

Porter then completed a fine all-round display with 5-12 and Callum Biel took 4-19 as Nondies were tumbled out cheaply.

Oxford 2nd 25pts,

Ox & Bletch Nondies 6

Cropredy convincingly beat previous leaders Buckingham Town 2nd by 115 runs.

Batting first, Cropredy racked up 263-7, Ed Somerton top-scoring with 67 and Joe Fox hitting 50.

Richard Lynch then claimed 3-9 and Jamie Jennings 3-31 as the visitors were shot out for 148.

Cropredy 25pts,

Buckingham Tn 2nd 9

Great & Little Tew 2nd lost by 24 runs on the DLS method at Leighton Buzzard Town.

In a match badly-affected by the rain, Buzzard posted 154-6 in 30 overs, Ollie Price taking 4-17.

Tew were then restricted to just 130-9 in their reply as they struggled to master the damp conditions.

Leighton Buzzard Tn 25pts,

Great & Little Tew 2nd 8