HEADINGTON A crowned a record-breaking season by adding the Bridle Insurance Oxfordshire League Cup to their trophy cabinet.

Having already secured the Division 1 title and the Hawker Cup, Headington won an unprecedented fourth successive League Cup with a resounding 94-45 win over Witney Town in the final at Kidlington.

The champions soon got into their stride and by halfway had already amassed an unassailable lead, with only Witney’s president, Alan Scholan, ahead.

By 15 ends, all four Headington rinks were comfortably in front and they marched on to victory to keep their season’s unbeaten record in league and cup.

Ray Gaskins skipped the highest winning rink for Headington, with Mick Nash, Norman Rae, and Colin Whitehead completing the four.

Headington captain Mark Charlett said: ‘It’s been a great year for our club, winning the league by a record number of points and claiming the Hawker Cup and League Cup in the last two weeks.”

Headington A 94; Witney Town 45 (Headington skips first): H Watts 18, A Scholan 15; R Gaskins 31, B Bloomfield 7; J King 26, P Demczak 14; M Charlett 19, T Ludlow 9.

l SKIP Alan Ley recorded a six on the final end as Oxfordshire defeated Berkshire 122-109 at Caversham in a friendly.

Berkshire 109, Oxfordshire 122

(Oxfordshire scores)

Rink 1: C Haley, T Gripe, M Morris & P Robbins won 24-18.

Rink 2: M Cameron, A Smith, J Benfield & A Ley won 23-14.

Rink 3: C Lewis, B Jarvie, A Wase & B Bloomfield lost 22-20.

Rink 4: J McGeough, J Timms, K Williams & I Whelpton lost 22-12.

Rink 5: M Jones, E Dorling, A Hall & R Barnett won 29-14.

Rink 6: R Slater, D Bullock, D Wedge & M Andrew lost 19-14.