A full field of 80 riders turned out as the Oxfordshire Road Race League’s first season concluded on the Stadhampton circuit.

After a neutralised start through Little Milton riders completed three laps of the circuit for a distance of 42 miles in an hour and a half.

Event organiser Stuart Hathaway said: “It was a highly successful event and a strong way to finish the league season.”

Oxonian spokesperson Dennis McSweeney said: “The new Oxfordshire road race league has had a good first year with six clubs organising both on and off road races through the summer.

“We have learnt a lot this year and will carry that knowledge through into next year’s events.”

The race was won by Ryan Witchell of University of Bristol, with David Emms of Didcot Phoenix a close second.

Rich Harrison defied a strong wind and 44 rivals to win Oxford City’s time trial was held on the Witney Bypass course.

The City rider finished in 20mins 52secs, six seconds ahead of Tom Yeatman (Oxonian).

Chris Goodfellow (Drag2Zero) came third, while Jem Line (Oxonian ) won the women’s race in 24.57.