Newly-promoted Rose Hill Community Centre got their Premier Section campaign off to a flying start when they defeated Section 1 Chequers Inn 7-2 at home.

Simon Tricker, Geordie Grant, Ray Pape, Terry Wood and Darren Hammond won their singles for a 5-1 lead, which they increased to 7-2 after a 2-1 pairs victory.

Steve Colling notched Chequers’ lone singles success.

Aaron Stevens, Pete Hall and Paul Oakley put Cowley Workers in command against Corner House B in Section 2, before Rhys Kerry got the better of Simon Powell to pull one back.

Workers stretched the lead to 5-1 via Phil Cook and Wayne Honour and a 2-1 pairs win made it 7-2.

Kidlington Green SC A went on an 8-1 rampage at George Bar A.

Wayne Stevens gave the George the lead when he beat Simon Smith, but that was their only success as the Kidlington outfit upped a gear.

In Section 3, Marston British Legion A entertained Black Bull, who took the opening game when Paul Skinner beat Kevin Dale.

Legion hit back through Rick Warden and Mick Hutt, before Trevor Skinner made it 2-2. Further wins from Andy Warden and Martin Hutt, plus a 2-1 pairs victory, sealed a 6-3 verdict for Marston.

Vikings SC made a cracking start at Democrats, Sean Pollard, Chris Pollard and Kevin Masterson putting them 3-0 up.

Demos roared back to level through Dave Presley, Mark Bayliss and Ashley Presley, but the Vikings bagged the pairs 2-1 for a fighting 5-4 triumph.

Wins from Ron Jeffery, Carl Pinches, Jake Kerry and Terry Sparrowhawk helped Garsington Cricket Club see off Crown House Club B 5-4 in Section 5.

Defending ladies champions Rileys started their defence with a 5-4 defeat to arch rivals Florence Park Community Centre A.

Hazel Prowton, Paulette Guy and Megan Curtis gave hosts Rileys the early edge, before Tina Hamilton (180) and Yvonne Curran pulled it back to 3-2.

Nicola Curzon defeated Michelle Ewins to stretch Rileys’ lead, but a 3-0 pairs success clinched it for Florence Park at 5-4.

Newly-promoted to Section 1, Vikings SC entertained Premier outfit Black Swan and found themselves 2-0 down after wins from Sue Simms and Angie Turner.

Vikings replied via Tina Walton and Lisa James, but the visitors made it 4-2 thanks to Jane Godfrey and Chris Thompson, and a 2-1 pairs success sealed it at 6-3.

* The Greene King ODDA Winter League finals will be held at the Oxford Sports Club, Romanway, Cowley on Friday, June 6.

Tickets at £3 are available from Jim Baxendale (tel 01865 430054).

All trophies won must be collected on finals night.



Premier & Section 1: Peachcroft 7, Windrush Club 2; Rose Hill 7, Chequers Inn 2.

Section 2: Donnington 6, Cricketers 3; Cowley Workers 7, Corner House B 2; George Bar A 1, Kidlington Green A 8.

Section 3: Democrats 4, Vikings 5; Marston RBL A 6, Black Bull 3; Cricketers C 3, Village Inn 6.

Section 4: Nuffield Lounge 7, Masons Arms 2; Red Lion A 6, Marston RBL B 3; Cricketers B 5, Catherine Wheel A 4.

Section 5: Littlemore RFC A 6, Crown Inn B 3; Garsington CC 5, Crown House Club B 4.

Section 6: Gladiators 4, Berkshire House 5.

Section 7: Golden Ball B 8, Three Horseshoes 1. Section 8: Crown Inn A 4, Butchers Arms 5; Crown House A 4, Prince of Wales A 5; Catherine Wheel B 1, Littlemore RFC B 8.


Premier & Section 1: Rileys 4, Florence Park A 5; Vikings 3, Black Swan 6; Florence Park B 6, Donnington A 3.

Section 2: Crown 1, Donnington C 8; Crown Inn 9, Corner House 0; Donnington B 5, Berinsfield 4.

Section 3: Jolly Postboys A 3, Six Bells A 6; Catherine Wheel D 5, Red Lion 4.

Section 4: Sun 6, Chequers 3.

Section 5: Original Swan 3, George Bar A 6.

Section 6: Six Bells B 4, Littlemore RBL 5; George Bar B 6, Cowley A 3.

Section 7: Cowley B 3, Three Horseshoes 6; George Bar C 1, Jolly Postboys B 8; Ampleforth 4, Butchers Arms 5.

THIS WEEK'S 180’s.

M Andrews (Cricketers A) 2, T Hamilton (Florence Park Ladies A), P Oakley (Cowley Workers), W Honour (Cowley Workers), S Smith (Green Rd A), J Fowler (Green Rd A), A Buckingham (George Bar A), A Sawyer (Cricketers C), P Hewlett (Masons), H Norton (Crown House B), J Carr (Butchers).


M Ashburner (Catherine Wheel A) 132, M Kennett (Corner House B) 130, S Fisher (Peachcroft) 127, S Tricker (Rose Hill) 126, L Pratley (Nuffield Lounge) 120, M Kennett (Corner House B) 116, B Cross (Cricketers Arms B) 116; J Taylor (Catherine Wheel A) 109, L Pratley (Nuffield Lounge) 105, J Britnell (Windrush Club) 103, S Dennett (Black Bull) 102, R Venn (Butchers Arms) 100.

Latest Sport news