Nico Rosberg delivered on Mercedes' promise with a dominant victory in the season-opening Australian Grand Prix, as Lewis Hamilton retired on lap three.

Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo was second, but was later disqualified for a fuel-flow rate infringement.

The decision promoted Dane Kevin Magnussen, who made a stellar debut for McLaren, to second.

He beat teammate Jenson Button into third, with Ferrari's Fernando Alonso fourth.

Williams' did the best of the Oxfordshire teams with Valtteri Bottas finishing fifth.

But his teammate Felipe Massa was forced to retire on the first lap.

Max Chilton and Jules Bianchi from the Banbury-based Marussia team were 13th and 14th respectively.

The Lotus duo of Romain Grosjean and Pastor Maldonado, plus the Caterham pair of Marcus Ericsson and Kamui Kobayashi were forced to retire.