FOOTBALL: Hinkin claims shield winner

Berinsfield celebrate after winning the North Berks Charity Shield for the second season in a row   Picture: Steve Wheeler

Berinsfield celebrate after winning the North Berks Charity Shield for the second season in a row Picture: Steve Wheeler

First published in Sport

A LATE strike from Mike Hinkin saw Berinsfield retain their North Berks Charity Shield with a 1-0 win over AFC Wallingford, writes PHIL ANNETS.

The all-Division 1 clash at Abingdon Town was goalless until the 84th minute, when Hinkin struck to earn his side a second successive title.

There was an upset in the Nairne Paul Trophy final, where a Vaughan Just double gave Division 3’s Childrey United Res a 3-2 win over Abingdon United Res, of Division 2.

Steve Pitson and Matt Shelton had given Abingdon the lead, before a Nathan Blackwell penalty sparked the dramatic comeback.

Didcot Casuals’ hopes of the Division 1 title were all but ended as they lost 2-1 at lowly Sutton Courtenay.

Paul Powell scored for the visitors, but goals from Josh Crook and Rob Andrews won the game for Sutton.

It means leaders Saxton Rovers need one point from two games to lift the title.

Luke Ingram’s double helped Wootton & Dry Sandford to a 3-2 win at Kintbury Rangers.

Tom Srawley also found the net for Wootton, while Shaun Thorpe and Christian Quick notched in vain for Kintbury.

Ardington & Lockinge sealed promotion from Division 2 with a 3-0 home win over Steventon thanks to goals from Jonny Eudell, Jamie Clark and Ollie O’Hanlon.

The champagne is still on ice for Division 3 leaders Faringdon Town Res after they went down 1-0 to Chris Kerry’s goal for Radley.

Hanney United boosted their Division 4 title hopes of with a 3-2 win at second-placed Westminster.

Nick Clinch struck twice alongside a James Bishop goal for the leaders, whilst Seb Hickey hit two for the hosts, who are nine points adrift with three games in hand.

Long Wittenham Athletic Res almost salvaged an incredible draw after being 6-0 down to Turnpike Sports.

Tom Hitchcock hit a hat-trick for Turnpike, along with strikes from Ian Page, Mark Davies and an own goal, but they were hanging on as Ollie Saunders (2), Joe Cheong (2) and Callum Bowler hit back.

Faringdon Town A sealed Division 5 promotion in style with an 8-0 win at Hagbourne United Res.

Martin Key (3), Lee Ruddle (2), Aiden Streete, Ryan Sharps and Rob Lovegrove did the damage.


Div 1: Harwell International 2 (G Fenton, T McGregor), Faringdon Town 2 (R Harrington 2).

Div 2: Coleshill United 5 (S Blake 2, J Deaman, R Evans, C Clark), Drayton 2 (A Seamark, R Seamark); Lambourn Sports Res 4 (D Harris 2, M Mooney, R Guy), Saxton Rovers Res 2 (G Belcher, G Cooper).

Div 3: Blewbury 1 (B Morris), Kintbury Rangers Res 1 (R Denison); Stanford in the Vale 3 (J Gregory 2, T Mayall), Hagbourne Utd 4 (C Black, C Dawson, M Chomyn, L Tansley).

Div 4: Drayton Res 0, Coleshill United Res 11 (D Coleman 5, J Tranter 2, D Kingsley 2, J Head, M Loveridge); Steventon Res 3 (M Hutton, D Rumley, M Trower), Stanford in the Vale Res 3 (T Eltham 2, T Jackson).

Div 5: Challow 2 (J Vaughan, K Shaw), Sutton Courtenay Res 3 (M Churton, D Page, K Thomas); Didcot Casuals 6 (N Guiry 2, S Bead 2, R Beecham, J Slipper), Appleton Stars 1 (A Swain); Uffington United 5 (J Glock 3, L Butler, I Moore), Benson Lions Res 6 (A Green 3, T Hobbs, A Richardson, I McRobbie-Smith).


Div 1: Berinsfield 7, Long Wittenham Athletic 2.

Div 2: Ardington & Lockinge 5, Coleshill United 3; Lambourn Sports Res 2, Wantage Town A 0; Wantage Town 1 (E Baldwin), Dorchester 1 (J McKinley).

Div 3: Blewbury 0, Childrey United Reserves 3; Didcot Casuals Res 3, Stanford in the Vale 1.

Div 5: Radley Res 2, Sutton Courtenay Res 2.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree