DAMIAN Shirazi is back from his self-imposed exile as Oxfordshire open their Minor Counties Cricket Association Knock-Out Trophy challenge against Devon at Bovey Tracey on Sunday.

The left-handed batsman, who last played for the county against Dorset in the championship at Bournemouth in July 2011, is reported to be raring to go after joining Aston Rowant.

Oxfordshire head of cricket Rupert Evans said: “He contacted us to say he had got his appetite back and would love to be considered again.”

Evans had no concerns about selecting Shirazi for the Group 1 game following his spell away from the county scene.

“He is proven at that standard, so there are no problems with that,” he added.

“Sometimes people find the situation works for them, with Michael Beard dropping out and Craig Haupt not fit.”

Oxon expect to hear today whether opening batsman Lloyd Sabin, who is also wanted by Oxford MCCU for their BUCS Premier A League game away to Exeter, will be available.

Aston Rowant’s Chris Watling is likely to come into the XI if he drops out.

Beard is playing for Bristol University, while Haupt (knee) is out with injury, and Nathan Hawkes has yet to return to the fold after a spell in Australia.

Seamers Chad Keegan and Ashley Blanchard come into the side with Horspath duo Will Eason and Patrick Foster unavailable, while Karl Penhale plays for Oxfordshire Academy away to Great & Little Tew.

Oxfordshire: from Kaufman (Old Northamp-tonians), L Sabin (Banbury), D Shirazi (Aston Rowant), J Perkin (Oxford), R West (Banbury), J Cater (Banbury), D Smith (Bromley), L Ryan (Banbury, capt), C Keegan (Henley), D Rowe (Sully Centurions), A Blanchard (Banbury), C Watling (Aston Rowant). l

  • SEVEN Aston Rowant players are in the Oxfordshire Academy side, who are away to Great & Little Tew on Sunday.

Oxfordshire Academy: A Muttitt (Aston Rowant), V Perera (Oxford), R Cook (Aston Rowant), S Alam (Oxford & Bletchingdon Nondescripts), A Tolson (Aston Rowant), D Matthews (Aston Rowant), J Davies (Oxford Brookes), K Penhale (Aston Rowant), W Rooney (Aston Rowant), T Davies (Oxford Brookes), J Cardy (Abingdon Vale), C Leaney (Aston Rowant).