PHIL Collins has retained his Oxfordshire Open title, writes PETE EWINS.

He overcame fellow county player Keith Sheard to take the crown after a high-scoring final.

Collins replied with 20,840 after being set a formidable 19,090, and the Wallingford League player also captured the highest break award with 24,110.

Meanwhile, in the Johnsons Buildbase Oxford League, Premier Section leaders Kennington suffered their first defeat in 13 matches after losing 3-2 at Didcot Conservative Club.

Stuart Florey was top scorer for Didcot with 8,130, while Pauline Withey hit double figures with 11,700 (break 8,860) for the leaders.

Vikings triumphed 3-2 at Comrades Club thanks to Lewis Stratford (8,490), Ian Moss (7,820) and Allan Lacey (5,080).

Section 2 leaders Gladiators A are back to winning ways after beating Section 1 side Masons B 3-2.

Masons took the first leg against the break through Martin Skyrme, who beat Dave Jarman 3,710-2,080.

Bert Lovegrove (7,420) and Frank Cox (4,460) replied for Gladiators.

In a cracking fourth game, Keith Gardner opened up with a 5,000 break, but then saw Chris Webb reply with 8,920, including a break of 7,500.

Skipper Bob Pincombe won the decider 6,540-3,010 over Paul Cooper, putting Gladiators ten points clear of Headington Conservative Club, who crashed 5-0 at Masons A.

Alan Lowe (5,390), Dave Rose (4,490), Maxi McDonnell (4,850), Martyn Wood and Robin Godfrey (12,040, break 8,900) did the damage.

Berinsfield won 3-2 at Marlborough.

Andy Ingram (6,970), Phil McFarland (5,910) and Craig Mace were Berinsfield’s winners, with Arthur McIntyre (7,450) and Pete Rose (6,610) replying.


 Comrades 2, Vikings 3; Didcot Con Club 3, Kennington 2; Marlborough 2, Berinsfield 3; Masons A 5, Headington Con Club 0; West Oxford Democrats 5, Gladiators B 0; Gladiators A 3, Masons B 2.


 Didcot Con Club v Comrades, Kennington v Vikings, Gladiators A v Masons A, Masons B v Gladiators B, West Oxford Democrats v Marlborough, Berinsfield v Dolphin.