Oxford & District’s Katherine Hawes fell at the first hurdle in the national finals of the English Indoor Bowling Association’s ladies’ champion of champions competition at Warner Lakeside, Hayling Island.

Her challenge ended with a 21-8 defeat by eventual runner-up Sophie Tolchard (Torquay United) in the last 16.

Hawes was also in Donna Knight’s Oxford & District side with Pat Rist and Carole Galletly, who edged past Riverain (Hitchin) 17-16 in a thrilling inter area fours final.

Going into the last end, Oxford were trailing 16-13.

With Rist and Galletly having bowled, Oxford’s hopes of claiming the shots needed to keep their hopes alive looked slim, so Hawes killed the end.

In the restarted end, Oxford were holding three shots when Knight drew a fourth with her last bowl to snatch a dramatic victory.

They now face Penny Cresswell’s Dolphin four from Poole in the national finals at Melton & District on February 22.

AJ Brown has won his way through to represent Oxfordshire in the English Short Mat Bowling Association’s national Under 18 singles at Bromsgrove on Sunday, March 24.

He triumphed in the qualifier at Wallingford.

Mixed fours qualifiers: L Orlando, M Davies, L Woodward, D Wiggins.


Wantage & District Knockout Cup

Warborough 13 (0pts), Wootton 29 (8)

1st leg: Warborough (P Dunn, S Dyke, P Woodward, L Woodward) 7, Wootton (R Cross, B Cummings, T Cross, AJ Brown) 10.

2nd leg: Warborough (E Hodgson, W Woodward, M Davies, D Wiggins) 6, Wootton (M Claridge, G Cross, S Faulkner, R Claridge) 19.

Oxfordshire South & Vale Division 1

Drayton Dynamos 13 (2pts), Stanford Vale 19 (6)

1st leg: Drayton Dynamos (I Norris, J Pimm, L Locke, V Locke) 4, Stanford Vale (H Broad, T Bulley, M Hill, P Broad) 13.

2nd leg: Drayton Dynamos (F Bray, P MItcheson, J Mitcheson, J Bray) 9, Stanford Vale (M Wyatt, J Hayward, G Iles, C Iles) 6.

Wallingford Regals 17 (0pts), Hanney BC 22 (8)

1st leg: Wallingford Regals (R Hasker, P Biggs, A Sirett, C Hasker) 8, Hanney (P Simpson, B Bycliffe, F Martin, A Savage) 10.

2nd leg: Wallingford Regals (D Sirett, S Gallagher, D Hasker, E Hasker) 9, Hanney (E Herbert, R Hatley, V Simpson, B Anderson) 12.