Lauren Hawtin raced to her third Oxfordshire Schools’ Cross Country Championship title at a muddy Radley College.

Runner-up in the senior girls’ race last year, the 18-year-old, from Cherwell, Oxford, went one better this time by coming home ahead of Cordelia Parker (St Helen & St Katharine, Abingdon) and Alice Farmery (Oxford High).

Her victory in the 4.1k event completed a trio of county titles, adding to her intermediate success of 2010 and her junior triumph in 2008.

Hawtin’s younger sister, Beth (Gosford Hill, Kidlington), saw her bid for a title four-timer dashed when she finished third behind Chipping Norton’s Megan Humphreys in the intermediate girls’ race.

Humphreys was completing a title double in the 3.4k race, having won the junior event 12 months ago, with Victoria Mobley (Tudor Hall, Banbury) finishing runner-up for the fourth successive year.

Fiona Bunn (St Helen & St Katharine) improved on her second-placed finish of 12 months ago in the junior race over 2.9k by taking victory ahead of Flora Kempston (Cherwell) and Chloe Ridewood (Gosford Hill).

Henley College’s Nathan Meredith was a surprise winner of the senior boys’ race.

Meredith, who was sixth in the intermediate race last year behind Thomas Kelly, turned the tables on the Abingdon School teenager, who had to settle for second spot this time in the 7.5k event.

Cherwell’s Matthieu Marshall took the minor honours, despite finishing with one shoe.

James Currah (Henry Box, Witney) also showed notable improvement to take the intermediate boys’ race.

Seventh in the 5.8k event 12 months ago, he got the better of a sprint finish with Christian von Eitzen (European, Culham), with Abingdon’s Nat Jones, last year’s junior champion, third.

Victory in the junior race over 4.6k this time went to Faringdon’s Will Crisp, who proved too strong for Luke Coles (Barth-olomew, Eynsham) and Ricky Martin (St Birinus, Didcot).

Abingdon’s boys and St Helen & St Katharine’s girls took the team honours with two triumphs apiece.

The top eight in each race now qualify to represent Oxfordshire in the English Schools’ Championship at Catton Park, near Walton-upon-Trent, south Derbyshire on March 16.


(Leading positions)


Senior: 1 N Meredith (Henley College), 2 T Kelly (Abingdon), 3 M Marshall (Cherwell), 4 J Bowness (Magdalen College School), 5 S Marshall (King Alfred’s), 6 C Hewitt (St Birinus), 7 M Hartshorne (Abingdon), 8 O Stepney (Marlborough). Team: 1 Abingdon, 2 Magdalen College School, 3 St Edward’s.

Intermediate: 1 J Currah (Henry Box), 2 C von Eitzen (European), 3 N Jones (Abingdon), 4 A Munro (Abingdon), 5 T Curtis (Abingdon), 6 B Claridge (King Alfred’s), 7 L Edward-Jones (Radley), 8 J Gable (Chiltern Edge). Team: 1 Abingdon, 2 St Edward’s, 3 Magdalen College School.

Junior: 1 W Crisp (Faringdon), 2 L Coles (Bartholomew), 3 R Martin (St Birinus), 4 D Stokell (King Alfred’s), 5 O Onay (King Alfred’s), 6 J Zietman (St Edward’s), 7 E Gronbech (Bartholomew), 8 V Brown (Abingdon). Team: 1 Cherwell, 2 King Alfred’s, 3 Magdalen College School.


Senior: 1 L Hawtin (Cherwell), 2 C Parker (St Helen & St Katharine), 3 A Farmery (Oxford High), 4 N Harris-White (Henley College), 5 I Kempton (St Helen & St Katharine), 6 E Clark (Oxford & Cherwell Valley College), 7 J Farmery (Oxford High), 8 B James (Our Lady’s). Team: 1 St Helen & St Katharine, 3 St Edward’s, 3 Oxford High.

Intermediate: 1 M Humphreys (Chipping Norton), 2 V Mobley (Tudor Hall), 3 B Hawtin (Gosford Hill), 4 M Wilson (d’Overbroecks), 5 A Wright (Lord Williams’s), 6 E Evans (Cokethorpe), 7 J Harrison (King Alfred’s), 8 I Rayner (St Edward’s). Team: 1 Tudor Hall, 2 St Helen & St Katharine, 3 St Edward’s.

Junior: 1 F Bunn (St Helen & St Katharine), 2 F Kempston (Cherwell), 3 C Ridewood (Gosford Hill), 4 F Insley (St Helen & St Katharine), 5 I Rodriguez (Wallingford), 6 V Tilling (King Alfred’s), 7 L Evans (Headington), 8 S Hargreaves (St Helen & St Katharine). Team: 1 St Helen & St Katharine, 2 Tudor Hall, 3 Headington.