Oxford MailBAR BILLIARDS: Masons shock Vikings (From Oxford Mail)

Get involved: send your photos, videos, news & views by texting OXFORD NEWS to 80360 or email us

BAR BILLIARDS: Masons shock Vikings

Masons A pulled off the shock of the season in the Johnsons Buildbase Oxford League by beating Premier Section joint leaders Vikings Club 5-0, writes Pete Ewins.

On a tricky top, Maxi McDonnell won the opener by ending Alan Oliver’s unbeaten run with a 6,000-3,860 win. Mick Murphy then beat Ian Moss 3,570-1,730, and Martyn Wood saw off Bob Allsworth 4,380-1,830.

Alan Lowe edged past Pete Ewins 3,490-2,990 and Tim Curry completed the whitewash by defeating Allan Lacey, who had been in front at the bar, 2,120-1,970.

Masons are now joint top with West Oxford Democrats after they lost 3-2 at home to Comrades Club.

Terry Green (4,560) and Billy Hill won for Democrats, but Simon Ellam (4,270), Chris Storch (3,400) and Chris Alexander (3,380) gave Comrades victory.

Kennington Club won 4-1 at home to Berinsfield Club. Lorin Clough (7,380), Steven Sheard (8,780, break 7,590), Ian Gordon (5,920) and captain Pauline Withey shone for Kennington.

Craig Mace posted Berinsfield’s lone success with a shock 5,590-4,080 win over Mark Trafford. Dave Tooke sealed Didcot Conservative Club’s 5-0 home success against Masons B with a score of 14,170.

Stuart Florey (4,400), Jenny Florey (6,150), Dennis Atkins (6,870) and Sue Atkins, who pipped Martin Skyrme 2,300-2,260 by going behind the black peg, set up the victory.

Section 2 leaders Gladiators A continued their winning ways with a 4-1 triumph against their B side.

Frank Cox (2,090), Keith Gardner (6,380), Dave Jarman (4,460) and Bob Pincombe (6,010) won the first four games. Jenny Webb spared the B team’s blushes by beating Malcolm Lee in the final game.

Results: Masons A 5, Vikings 0; Kennington 4, Berinsfield 1; Gladiators B 1, Gladiators A 4; Didcot Con Club 5, Masons B 0; West Oxford Democrats 2, Comrades 3.


Comments are closed on this article.


Get Adobe Flash player
About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree