Berinsfield moved to within a point of Johnsons Buildbase Oxford League Section 1 leaders West Oxford Democrats after winning 3-2 at home to Premier outfit Didcot Conservative Club, writes PETE EWINS.

Geoff Mace (5,940) put Berinsfield in front, only for Stuart Florey to reply before Tony Broadway (10,390) restored the home side’s lead.

Dennis Atkins (6,800) made it all square and in the decider, Phil McFarland (4,640) defeated Sue Atkins.

Lurking just behind are Masons A, who won 4-1 at Premier side Comrades Club.

Although Masons’ Sean Stratford won the opening game against Mick Murphy 3,090-2,190, the visitors grabbed the next four legs.

Maxi McDonnell, Alan Lowe, Dave Rose and Martyn Wood, who was top scorer of the night with 5,410, did the damage.

Democrats came unstuck at Vikings, crashing 5-0.

Alan Oliver (10,760, break 8,000), Ian Moss (4,130), Bob Allsworth (4,510) and Allan Lacey (5,040 & 7,460) led the way.

Bottom club Masons B lost 4-1 at home to Kennington, whose crumb of comfort came via Chris Webb with 10,100.

Mark Trafford (7,190), Ian Gordon, Kevin Godfrey (5,600) and Steven Sheard were Kennington’s victors.

Melissa Standbridge recorded the highest away score of 9,220, but it couldn’t save Dolphin from a 4-1 defeat at Marlborough.

Dolphin’s winners included Callum Bowler, who posted his first success when beating Sabrina Storch 2,730-2,170.


Masons B 1, Kennington 4; Vikings 5, West Oxford Democrats 0; Comrades 1, Masons A 4; Berinsfield 3, Didcot Con Club 2; Gladiators A 4, Gladiators B 1; Marlborough 4, Dolphin 1.


Didcot Con Club v Masons B, Masons A v Vikings, Kennington v Berinsfield, Gladiators B v Gladiators A, Dolphin v Marlborough.