Andy Triggs Hodge and Lily van den Broecke picked up top honours at last night’s Oxfordshire Sports Awards.

The rowers, who won gold medals at the Olympics and Paralympics, were named sportsman and sportswoman of the year in a glittering ceremony at Oxford’s Kassam Stadium.

A sell-out attendance saw Triggs Hodge see off fellow Olympian Lawrence Clarke and cricketer Jack Brooks.

Rifle-shooter Holly Lay, who became British Under 21 champion at 16 was the junior sportsperson.


Sportsman of year: Andy Triggs Hodge (rowing). Runners-up: Jack Brooks (cricket), Lawrence Clarke (athletics).

Sportswoman of year: Lily van den Broecke (rowing). Runners-up: Katherine Hawes (bowls), Dawn Williams (triathlon).

Team of year: Bicester Hockey Club Ladies 1st XI. Runners-up: Oxford City Football Club 1st team, Oxfordshire Ladies cricket team.

Club of year: Banbury Rugby Club. Runners-up: Challow Netball Club, Higher Energy Trampoline Club.

Coach of year: Tessa Horn (netball). Runners-up: Yolanda Owen (netball), Jane Parkinson (badminton).

Junior sportsperson of year: Holly Lay (rifle shooting). Runners-up: Elliot Harvey (karting), Michael Wakelin (skater hockey).

Disability sports award: Rosie Bancroft (swimming). Runners-up: Andrew Gardiner (golf), Witney Wolves (tag rugby).

Junior team of year: Wallingford rowing club J16 scullers. Runners-up: Banbury girls under 13 cricket team, Team Cherwell junior triathlon team.

Unsung hero: Paul Duester (cricket). Runners-up: Chris Bazeley (athletics), Shirley Johnson (football).

Young volunteer: Ben Webb (cycling). Runners-up: Amy Cooper (athletics), Tom Guntrip (cricket).

 Report, reaction and pictures from the night in Tuesday’s Oxford Mail.