Oxford MailRUGBY UNION: Woods to leads Stanley's (From Oxford Mail)

Get involved: send your photos, videos, news & views by texting OXFORD NEWS to 80360 or email us

RUGBY UNION: Woods to leads Stanley's

RICHIE Woods will captain the Major Stanley’s XV in tomorrow’s traditional clash with Oxford University at Iffley Road (3.30).

The back-row forward won three Blues for Oxford from 2002-04 and represented Ireland Under 21s.

Stanley’s are still expected to have four, as yet unnamed, Samoan internationals in their ranks, but also include Chinnor’s Matt Holyland and Andy Smith.

Oxford Harlequins trio Jonny Tevita, Harry Whittington and Luke Brown are selected alongside Henley prop Sam Steventon.

Students captain John Carter, who could move from the back row to lock, has named a 28-man squad including ten Blues.

Oxford University: from H Macdonald*, Gardner, Baker, Law*, Carter* (capt), Rowlands, Waddingham, Jones, Harris, Rickner, Anderson*, D Macdonald, Heathcote, Wisson, Connor*, Fell, Grounds, Direen, Commins, Marr*, Lamont, Egerton*, Turner*, Bramham-Law*, Cho, Hudson*, Hughes, McCulla.

Major Stanley’s XV: from Maidment (Bath), Holyland (Chinnor), Steventon (Henley), Smith (Chinnor), Outen* (Richmond), Allen (Cinderford), Woods* (Blackrock, capt), Stradwick (Blackheath), Skipworth-Button (London Irish Academy), Rogers* (Barnes), Keown (Oxford Harlequins), Brown (Oxford Harlequins), Hunter (Ayr), McCallum (Ayr), O’Connor (Old Alleyanians), Brock (Australia sevens), Tevita (Oxford Harlequins), W Jones (Wales sevens), Carter (Cinderford), L Jones* (Rosslyn Park), Whittington (Oxford Harlequins).

* denotes Blue.


Comments are closed on this article.


Get Adobe Flash player
About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree