ACADEMICS, scientists and business leaders in Oxfordshire were also named in the New Year’s Honours List.

On Saturday we featured a selection of the community-spirited folk who had picked up honours for their hard work.

Here are the other people from Oxfordshire who were named in the list: KNIGHTS BACHELOR: Hector William Hepburn Sants. Formerly chief executive officer, Financial Services Authority. For services to financial services and regulation.

DBE: Prof Carol Vivien Robinson. Professor of physical chemistry, University of Oxford. For services to science and industry.

CBE: David Millar Clark. National clinical adviser, Department of Health. For services to mental health.

Prof Raymond Allen Dwek. Professor of glycobiology, Oxford University. For services to UK/Israel scientific collaboration.

Prof Judith Anne Freedman. Professor of tax law, Oxford University. For services to tax research.

OBE: George Alexander Bryson Kynoch. Formerly deputy chairman, Scottish Conservative Party. For public and political service. Michael Cyril Truran. For voluntary services to bioscience.

MBE: Alex Gregory. Rower, Men’s Fours. For services to rowing. Robin Williams, British Olympic rowing coach. For services to rowing.